2012 Stated Clerk Candidates’ Handbook

June 2012

Dear Commissioners and Advisory Delegates of the 220th General Assembly (2012):

One of the items of business before this year’s assembly is the election of the Stated Clerk of the General Assembly. The Stated Clerk Nomination Committee, which was elected by the 219th General Assembly (2010), has been diligent in its work and careful to follow the process detailed in the Standing Rules of the General Assembly found in the Manual of the General Assembly. For easy reference, the relevant rules from Standing Rule H.2.b. have been reproduced at the end of this letter.

The committee developed an application packet that included an application form, a request for biographical information, including ecclesiastical standing, work history, and other information, along with supplemental questions. Applications were due January 3, 2012. The committee received five requests for application packets.

The committee found itself in an almost unprecedented situation, having received only one application. The committee felt a responsibility to conduct a thorough and careful interview, despite having only the incumbent’s application, and did so in March 2012. All committee members were present, and the committee spent several hours interviewing Gradye Parsons.

It became very clear to the committee that Gradye Parsons is called to the ministry in which he has served as Stated Clerk of the General Assembly for the past four years. His deep Christian faith, formed in family and church from his childhood on, his wide-ranging intelligence and his warm, collegial style were evident to all, along with his joy for the work.

The committee has prepared an information packet for the commissioners of the 220th General Assembly, including biographical information, a personal statement and answers to four questions, prepared by the Stated Clerk Nominating Committee. That information packet is attached.

The committee will present its report and its nominee the Reverend Gradye Parsons, during the Sunday, July 1, afternoon plenary of the 220th General Assembly (2012).

The members of the committee are Ruling Elders Reid Beveridge (Wilmington, Delaware), Melissa Kirkpatrick (Gainesville, Virginia), and Vincent Thomas (Minneapolis, Minnesota) and Teaching Elders Terry Epling (St. Louis, Missouri), Dennis Hughes (Seattle, Washington), Dan Krebill (Bozeman, Montana), Eileen Lindner, (Tenafly, New Jersey), Matthew Schramm, (Bay City, Michigan), Judith Wellington (Albuquerque, New Mexico). The committee was assisted in its work by Ruling Elder Barbara Murphy (Orange, California).

The committee is honored to have served the 220th General Assembly (2012).

In Christ’s service,

Stated Clerk Nomination Committee

Download PDF

(400.7 KB)