Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) journalists won twenty-four awards from the Associated Church Press (ACP) as the oldest and largest Christian press organization presented its “Best of the Christian Press” awards for work published in 2016 at its annual convention April 28.

The honors received by Presbyterian journalists—from nearly 1,000 entries—included seven “Best in Class” awards, the ACP’s highest honors.

“Unbound: An Interactive Journal of Christian Social Justice” led the way with eight awards, including an Award of Merit (second place) in the Best in Class competition for independent websites.

Presbyterian News Service (PNS) received five awards, including a Best in Class Award of Merit in the Online: News Service category. In addition, PNS Editor Gregg Brekke received an Award of Excellence (first place) in the non-fiction book category for his book, Healing Hands: The Life Story of Dr. Virendra and Nancy Henry.

Presbyterian Women/HORIZONS received four awards, including a Best in Class Award of Excellence for Special Interest Magazines.

The Presbyterian Outlook won three awards, including two Best in Class nods. Presbyterians Today won two awards, including a Best in Class. And the Office of the General Assembly Communications department won a Best in Class Award of Excellence for last summer’s 222nd General Assembly (2016) News publication.

ACP Awards - Photo of Publications
The complete list of awards:


  • Award of Excellence, Digital Edition/Mobile Publication: “222nd General Assembly News (2016)” by the Office of the General Assembly Communications—Toya Richards, director.
  • Award of Excellence, Denominational Magazine: Presbyterians Today—Sue Washburn, Karen Bosc, and Patrick David Heery, editors, Mark Thomson, designer, Jeffrey Lawrence, publisher.
  • Award of Excellence, Special Interest Magazine: HORIZONS—Sharon Dunne Gillies, Carissa Herald, Yvonne Hileman, Susan Jackson-Dowd, Laura Lee, Stephanie Morris, Debbie Paris.
  • Award of Excellence, News Service: Presbyterian News Service—Gregg Brekke, editor.
  • Award of Merit, Blog: “Outlook Outpost” by The Presbyterian Outlook—Jill Duffield and Jana Blazek.
  • Award of Merit, Denominational Magazine: The Presbyterian Outlook—Jill Duffield, Jana Blazek, and Leslie Scanlon.
  • Award of Merit, Independent Website: Unbound: An Interactive Journal of Christian Social Justice—Ginna Bairby, managing editor, and Chris Iosso, general editor.

Unbound: An Interactive Journal of Christian Social Justice:

Presbyterian News Service:

Presbyterian Women/HORIZONS:

  • Award of Excellence, Bible Reference: “Who Is Jesus”—HORIZONS Bible Study by Judy Yates Siker, with Suggestions for Leaders by Lynn Miller. 
  • Award of Merit, Theological Reflection: “An Old Invitation for a New Day” by Carol M. Bechtel, author; Sharon Dunne Gillies, editor.
  • Honorable Mention, Theological Reflection: “Hope-ly” by Irene Pak and Sharon Dunne Gillies.

Presbyterians Today:

Presbyterian Outlook:

Books, Non-Fiction: