The Presbyterian Writers Guild (PWG) is accepting nominations for its 2010-2011 David Steele Distinguished Writer Award.

The award is given biennially in even-numbered years to recognize the cumulative work and influence — regardless of genre or subject matter — of a Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) writer. The award will be presented at the PWG luncheon at next summer’s 219th General Assembly.

Previous winners include the late Vic Jameson, the late Jack Purdy, Ann Weems, Kathleen Norris, Gustav Niebuhr, Bill Tammeus, Eva Stimson, Gayraud Wilmore and Marj Carpenter.

The award is named for R. David Steele, a Presbyterian pastor best known for his whimsical books of poetry and thought-provoking column, “Tuesday Morning,” in The Presbyterian Outlook.

Nominations for the award should include the writer’s PC(USA) affiliation, list of published work, and a 100-word essay describing why the nominee is deserving of the award. Contact information for both the nominator and the nominee should be included.

Send nominations to Jerry Van Marter by email; by fax to (502) 569-8073; or by mail to 100 Witherspoon Street, Room 5418, Louisville, KY 40202.

Deadline for nominations is Jan. 15, 2010.

The Presbyterian Writers Guild is a support network of and for Presbyterians who write as a form of Christian ministry. Any Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) writer may belong to the Guild. Annual dues are $25.