The 220th General Assembly today (July 6), elected the entire slate of nominees for Assembly-level committees and commissions proposed by its General Assembly Nominating Committee (GANC).

In the only challenge to the slate, the Rev. Daryl Fisher-Ogden of Santa Barbara Presbytery―the GANC’s nominee―prevailed over challenger the Rev. Kathryn J. Runyeon, stated clerk of San Francisco Presbytery, by a vote of 403-223 (64%-36%).

Fisher-Ogden is a lawyer as well as a PC(USA) minister. She has a doctorate in church history and has taught polity at Fuller Theological Seminary.

In other action, the Assembly elected the eight nominees of outgoing moderator Cynthia Bolbach to the GANC, class of 2016. The GANC is composed of one representative from each of the PC(USA)’s 16 synods.

Confirmed were Ruling Elders Marta T. Rodriguez-Fonseca, Synod of Boriquen Puerto Rico; Ruling Elder Judith E. North, Synod of Lakes and Prairies; Ruling Elder Bertram G. Johnson, Synod of Alaska-Northwest; Ruling Elder Juanita D. Holley, Synod of Lincoln Trails; the Rev. Yena Hwang, Synod of Mid-Atlantic; Ruling Elder Judy Lussie, Synod of the Pacific; the Rev. Danny C. Murphy Sr., Synod of South Atlantic and the Rev. John M. Willingham, Synod of the Trinity.